Druck Icon

Timoféeff-Ressovsky Medal for Eckert & Ziegler Supervisory Board member Dr. Gudrun Erzgräber

Berlin, February 1, 2011. The physicist Dr. Gudrun Erzgräber, member of the Supervisory Board of Eckert & Ziegler Strahlen- und Medizintechnik AG, has been awarded with the prestigious Timoféeff-Ressovsky Medal of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences for her achievements in the field of radiation biophysics. The medal is awarded each year to personalities who wrote scientific publications on radiation biological topics or who otherwise distinguished themselves in this field.

"As a specialist for medical appliances of radioactivity, our company is very familiar with the subjects to which Dr. Erzgräber dedicated herself during her scientific career", said Dr. Andreas Eckert, CEO of Eckert & Ziegler AG. "We were very pleased when we were able to attract her a few years ago as a member of our Supervisory Board and we congratulate her for this award".

The internationally renowned award in the field of radiation genetics and radioecology has been awarded to 65 scientists since the 1990s. In Germany the recipients were Prof. Detlev Ganten (Berlin), Prof. em. Dietrich Harder (Göttingen), and Prof. em. Manfred Rajewsky (Essen). The Timoféeff Ressovsky Medal is awarded in memory of the internationally renowned Russian geneticist Timoféeff-Ressovsky who worked as a scientist at the research campus Berlin Buch from 1930 to 1945. In the 1970s Dr. Erzgräber was a co-worker of Timofeéff-Ressovsky in the field of radio-biology. She has been a member of the Supervisory Board of Eckert & Ziegler AG since 2008.

With its around 540 employees worldwide the Eckert & Ziegler AG is one of the largest suppliers of radioactive components for radiotherapy and nuclear medicine.